The Legacy Gala is held by the Foundation to honor outstanding local leaders in an elegant evening of fine dining, entertainment, and dancing. 


​In 2017, at the 7th Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored:

  • Tracy & Alonzo Mourning, Founders of the Mourning Family Foundation
  • The Honorable George Vallejo, Mayor of North Miami Beach
  • Dr. Ranjan Duara, M.D., Medical Director, The Wien Center at Mount Sinai Medical Center
  • Garth C. Reeves, Sr., Publisher Emeritus, The Miami Times Newspaper
  • Ariel Swedroe Weinberg, Founder & CEO, Swedroe Art to Wear by Ariel  (Youth Legacy Award)


In 2016, at the 6th Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored:

  • Congresswoman Frederica Wilson, US Representative

  • Mario Murgado, President & CEO, Brickell Motors

  • State Senator Lauren Book, Founder & CEO, Lauren's Kids & Florida State Senator

In 2015, at the 5th Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored:

  • Dr. Wilbert "Tee" Holloway, AT&T / M-DCPS

  • Herbert & Gloria Barker, Barker Animation

  • Gwen Margolis, Florida State Senator

  • Katy Sorenson, Good Government Initiative

  • Mark Strickland, Former NBA player, CEO Mark Strickland Academy

  • Brenda Yester, Make-A-Wish Foundation


In 2014, the 4th Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored:

  • Billy Joel, City of Aventura Commissioner

  • Dr. Rudolph Moise, CEO, Comprehensive Health

  • Lexi Lehrman, Founder, Love Lexi Foundation

  • Becky Matkov, CEO, Dade Heritage Trust

  • John W. Ruffin, Jr., CEO, JD Ruffin Associates

  • Ronald A. Silver, former Florida State Senator


In 2013, the 3rd Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored: 

  • Dr. Eduardo Padrón, President, Miami-Dade College

  • Mr. Alberto Carvalho, Superintendent, Miami-Dade Schools

  • The Hon. Rosemary Barkett, Federal Judge, 11th Circuit

  • Mr. Gerald Grant, Jr., Director, Financial Planning AXA

  • Dr. Steven & Silvia Vanni, Founders, Mystic Force Foundation

In 2012, the 2nd Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored: 

  • The Hon. Mayor Carlos Gimenez, Miami-Dade County

  • The Hon. Commissioner Sally Heyman, District 4

  • The Hon. Councilwoman Phyllis Smith, North Miami Beach

  • Mr. Daniel Fils-Aime, Chairman, Haitian American Historical Society North Miami

  • Mr. Oscar Llorente, Art and Culture Center of Hollywood

​In 2011, the 1st Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored: 

  • The Hon. Myron Rosner, Mayor of the City of North Miami Beach

  • Mr. Michael J. Snyder, President of the Greater North Miami Beach Chamber of Commerce

  • Mr. Tony Lesesne, founder of In Focus Magazine

  • Dr. Dorothy Jenkins-Fields, Founder of the Black Archives History & Research Foundation



The Foundation’s Board of Directors welcomes suggestions for honorees for the eighth Legacy Gala to be held in the 2019 fall. 

Nominations may be submitted in writing to the Foundation’s President, Dr. Janie Greenleaf, c/o The Ancient Spanish Monastery Foundation, 16711 West Dixie Highway, North Miami Beach, FL  33160 or via email to


The Foundation's mission is "to generate funds for the preservation and maintenance of the historic building and gardens through a variety of art and cultural events with community involvement."


The Ancient Spanish Monastery Foundation 
16711 West Dixie Highway
North Miami Beach, FL  33160


© Copyright The Ancient Spanish Monastery Foundation 

All rights reserved