top of page


The Legacy Gala is held by the Foundation to honor outstanding local leaders in an elegant evening of fine dining, entertainment, and dancing. 


​In 2022, at the 8th Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored:

  • George Neary, LGBTQ, Arts, Culture & Tourism Preservationist
  • Alan S. Macken, CEO of Macken Companies
  • Senator Jason Pizzo, Florida- District 38
  • Nicole Henry, Acclaimed Jazz Performer
  • Tanya S. Wilson, AICP, Urban Planner
  • Laurence Panadero, Master Sculptor & Founder of Mission of Light
  • Dr. Michelle Lister, Cardiologist
  • Silvia Vanni, Founder of Mystic Force & Heroes Hangout
  • Kobi Karp, Founder & Principal of Kobi Karp Architecture and Interior Design, Inc.

​In 2017, at the 7th Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored:

  • Tracy & Alonzo Mourning, Founders of the Mourning Family Foundation
  • The Honorable George Vallejo, Mayor of North Miami Beach
  • Dr. Ranjan Duara, M.D., Medical Director, The Wien Center at Mount Sinai Medical Center
  • Garth C. Reeves, Sr., Publisher Emeritus, The Miami Times Newspaper
  • Ariel Swedroe Weinberg, Founder & CEO, Swedroe Art to Wear by Ariel (Youth Legacy Award)


In 2016, at the 6th Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored:

  • Congresswoman Frederica Wilson, US Representative

  • Mario Murgado, President & CEO, Brickell Motors

  • State Senator Lauren Book, Founder & CEO, Lauren's Kids & Florida State Senator

In 2015, at the 5th Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored:

  • Dr. Wilbert "Tee" Holloway, AT&T / M-DCPS

  • Herbert & Gloria Barker, Barker Animation

  • Gwen Margolis, Florida State Senator

  • Katy Sorenson, Good Government Initiative

  • Mark Strickland, Former NBA player, CEO Mark Strickland Academy

  • Brenda Yester, Make-A-Wish Foundation


In 2014, the 4th Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored:

  • Billy Joel, City of Aventura Commissioner

  • Dr. Rudolph Moise, CEO, Comprehensive Health

  • Lexi Lehrman, Founder, Love Lexi Foundation

  • Becky Matkov, CEO, Dade Heritage Trust

  • John W. Ruffin, Jr., CEO, JD Ruffin Associates

  • Ronald A. Silver, former Florida State Senator


In 2013, the 3rd Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored: 

  • Dr. Eduardo Padrón, President, Miami-Dade College

  • Mr. Alberto Carvalho, Superintendent, Miami-Dade Schools

  • The Hon. Rosemary Barkett, Federal Judge, 11th Circuit

  • Mr. Gerald Grant, Jr., Director, Financial Planning AXA

  • Dr. Steven & Silvia Vanni, Founders, Mystic Force Foundation

In 2012, the 2nd Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored: 

  • The Hon. Mayor Carlos Gimenez, Miami-Dade County

  • The Hon. Commissioner Sally Heyman, District 4

  • The Hon. Councilwoman Phyllis Smith, North Miami Beach

  • Mr. Daniel Fils-Aime, Chairman, Haitian American Historical Society North Miami

  • Mr. Oscar Llorente, Art and Culture Center of Hollywood

​In 2011, the 1st Annual Legacy Gala, the Foundation honored: 

  • The Hon. Myron Rosner, Mayor of the City of North Miami Beach

  • Mr. Michael J. Snyder, President of the Greater North Miami Beach Chamber of Commerce

  • Mr. Tony Lesesne, founder of In Focus Magazine

  • Dr. Dorothy Jenkins-Fields, Founder of the Black Archives History & Research Foundation

bottom of page